The Art of the Arrangement: Floral Design

One of my 2015 goals was to take a flower arranging class. Working in art direction for home decor, I’ve learned that floral arrangements can really brighten up a space and help set the tone for a shot. A beautiful arrangement can be a focal point and add a natural touch to any room.

When fullosophie announced a floral workshop with The Southern Table, I jumped at the opportunity to sign up! My class was last weekend, and I thoroughly enjoyed learning some tricks of the trade from owner and lead designer, Maxine.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern TableThe class was called “The Art of the Arrangement,” so Maxine wanted to focus on how to infuse some personality and creativity into an arrangement. Her style lends itself to looser, natural bouquets with lots of greenery. I love how this style feels equally sophisticated and relaxed. There is a definite artistic sense to it. She describes how to create movement across the bouquet and let the natural shapes of the floral shine through.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

Fairly indiscreet on the outside, her space inside is hip and inviting. Since the office is shared with other wedding vendors (including a photographer, calligrapher, and stationer), you can tell there is a lot of creative collaboration.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

The workshop started with an around-the-room introduction of workshop attendees, then Maxine enthusiastically starts her demo bouquet. We learn how to trim stems, open closed buds, select a color palette, and build a bouquet layer by intricate layer.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

A generous assortment of floral gets everyone’s creative juices flowing. Bring on lots of greenery!

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

My floral selection and tools to get started. There were a lot of beautiful purples to choose from, and I can’t help but pair pale blushes and peachy tones with purple.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

My bouquet is well underway. Not shown: my pile of stems and leaves discarded on the ground. What fun it was to drop those without abandon in a floral studio where that is the norm!

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

All finished! You can see my workshop neighbors’ work as well. It was fun to see that everyone had such a different floral selection and style.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

My finished bouquet. The biggest challenge was creating interest from all angles. It was also easier said than done to recreate Maxine’s masterful and delicate movement. I feel like mine might be a bit too lopsided, but I have a fondness for that elegantly arching tulip.

Art of the Arrangement - Floral Workshop by The Southern Table

I’m so glad I was able to check one of this year’s goals off the list and learn from a master. Next time I get the chance, I can’t wait to try out my new skills at sculpting an artful bouquet.

One thought on “The Art of the Arrangement: Floral Design

Leave a Reply

